In the Pits

After two weeks, an official result for the 2016 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 was given. It took 50 minutes for the CAMS appointed Supercars National Court of Appeal to dismiss the Appeal submitted by Triple Eight Race Engineering (Australia) Pty Ltd in relation to the time penalty imposed by the Stewards in this year's race.

The Appeal Hearing was heard at the County Court of Victoria on Thursday evening, relating to the severity of the 15 second post-race time penalty handed down to Car #88 (Jamie Whincup/Paul Dumbrell) for Careless Driving after causing contact with Car #33 (Scott McLaughlin/David Wall) at Turn 21 on Lap 150.

Finally the results stand and Tekno Autosports Will Davison and Jonathon Webb can officially celebrate their fine victory. Triple Eight can still  fight through the FIA to have their penalty reduced, but it is believed they will not take up that option.

It's party time this week in Queensland as the Virgin Australia Supercars hit the streets for the Castrol Gold Coast 600 in what will be a most important round of the 2016 championship.

After 21 races of this year's championship Triple Eight Race Engineering hold the top three positions, with Shane van Gisbergen leading with 2524 points, with Red Bull Racing Australia teammate and six-time champion Jamie Whincup just 139 points further back on 2385 and Team Vortex driver Craig Lowndes third another 180 in arrears.

The Kiwi deserves his lead for he has won five races in his first year with the Roland Dane owned team, while Whincup has won three and Lowndes just two. Joining Lowndes on two wins are Will Davison, Scott McLaughlin and Tim Slade. 

There are another seven single race winners making 14 different drivers that have won races thus far, the one standout being Chaz Mostert.

Following his Bathurst win, Will Davison is currently fourth in the title-race with 2112 and fifth in the first non Holden is Scott McLaughlin in the Volvo on 2084 ahead of the first Ford, the Bottle 0 FPR entry (1908).

Still seething after being dismissed by Walkinshaw for 2017 and robbed of another Bathurst victory in a moment of madness, Garth Tander who will make his 250th championship start this weekend, is still without a 2017 drive as his seat was taken by Scott Pye following his dismissal from DJR Team Penske in favour of Scott McLaughlin.

It is believed Jason Bright will stand down as a full-time driver at Brad Jones Racing racer and Tander had been linked to that seat. However it is believed LDM's Nick Percat will be in Albury while the current HRT driver is thought to be in talks with Garry Rogers to take McLaughlin's drive.

Murray's Corner: James Whincup / Paul Dumbrell in car 88. Photo: Phil Blatch G83G3593

Murray's Corner: James Whincup / Paul Dumbrell in car 88. Photo: Phil Blatch G83G3593