Bridge notes | I thought I knew but I thought wrong

A FEW days ago, two of our brave new directors were running the session when an interesting situation occurred at our table.

So I thought I could provide a knotty problem for them to solve. I was under the misapprehension that I knew the answer.

Our opponents were not beginners, but nor were they experienced. The term is improvers, although I was under the impression one kept on learning until dementia set in - or you gave up.

The bidding went:

  • North: 2C, Alerted as a strong hand of 19 points plus.
  • South: 2D, alerted as a weak reply.
  • North: 2NT, when asked South replied, a balanced hand, but unable to give a point count.
  • South: 3D, not alerted.
  • North: 3H, not alerted.
  • South: 3NT, the final contract.

As East, I was on lead and, clutching five hearts, had a problem. I had assumed that 2D had been a transfer to hearts but I had not asked for an explanation of the bidding.

I chose to lead a spade, much to my partner’s delight because, unknown to me, she had five spade tricks to take.

When the dummy went down on the table it only contained one heart. North confirmed that he had also assumed it had been a transfer.

His partner said it was a sort of second negative bid, although he did possess four of them.

It was at this point that I called the directors. I wanted to establish my rights as I felt we had been disadvantaged and would call them back to the table at the end of the board if this proved to be the case.

As  the lead of the heart would have been helpful to them, whereas the lead of a spade was disastrous, the matter rested.

However, I suggested to them that they might like to find out the ruling that would apply in these circumstances, should they meet it another time.

They approached two of the club’s most learned directors, who having checked the facts, introduced me to a law, namely LAW 21,  that I have never  before encountered.

It reads thus: Law 21, Misinformation

  • A Call or Play Based on Player’s Own Misunderstanding.
  • No rectification or redress is due to a player who acts on the basis of his own misunderstanding.

In other words, had I asked the meaning of the 2D bid and received an incorrect response, and had the player who made the bid not corrected his partner’s explanation before I led, then I could have claimed damages.

See what a simple game bridge is!

Trophy leaders

LAST week saw the first round of the Helen Gordon trophy, held over two Friday mornings.

The leaders going into the second round are:

  • First: Jennifer Hector and Rosemary Hummelshoj.
  • Second: Val Irvine and Diana Baillie.
  • Third: Diane Kajons  and Anne Hunter.

Several other pairs are still in contention.

Melbourne Cup fun

THE club will be holding it’s usual Melbourne Cup day lunch with bridge, good food, beautiful clothes, a sweep and silly prizes.

Please get your names in early for the benefit of the caterers.