MARC Cars bringing nine entries to Bathurst 12 Hour

MARC Cars Australia has signed some of Australia’s brightest young stars for its upcoming Bathurst 12 Hour campaign.

The 2017 Supercars Mike Kable Award recipient Will Brown will rejoin last year’s class I winners Keith Kassulke and Rod Salmon in the No. 91 MARC II V8 – one of the outfit’s three new generation cars.

BIG TEAM: MARC Cars will have nine entries in this year's Bathurst 12 Hour. Photo: RICHARD CRAILL

BIG TEAM: MARC Cars will have nine entries in this year's Bathurst 12 Hour. Photo: RICHARD CRAILL

Toowoomba driver Brown is fresh from his debut season in the Dunlop Super 2 series, where he impressed with his performances this season.

The trio will aim to defend their class victory achieved in the 2017 race, where they finished 17th outright in a close battle with their teammates in the No. 92 car in the closing stages of the race.

The victory last year was Salmon’s third at Bathurst, joining his two outright victories achieved driving for the Ralliart Mitsubishi squad in 2008 and 2009.

Tony Alford, Kyle Alford and Chad Parrish will share the Donut King MARC Cars Australia entry, with Alford a three-time winner of Class C (GT4) with victories in 2012, 2014 and 2015 – and second in 2013.

Morgan Haber will re-join MARC Cars after a strong debut season in the Lamborghini Supertrofeo European series, and will join Jake Camilleri and Young-gun Aaron Cameron another of the new generation V8 machines.

Cameron caught the eye of team boss Ryan McLeod after a tip off from Former World Karting Champion John Target who, with Supercars ace James Courtney, supplied JC Kart chassis to Cameron for his campaign in the elite KZ class of this year’s Australian Karting Championships.

Meanwhile. Gold Coast teenager Zane Goddard will debut for the team this February – having returned home from Europe having scored pole positions and race victories in the British Formula 4 Championship.

2017 CAMS Australian Formula 4 champion Nick Rowe will make his third start at the mountain for MARC cars. The West Aussie driver recently impressed in his maiden Supercar test for BJR following a dominant season in the domestic F4 series in which he won his maiden title for AGI Sport.

Adelaide-based John Goodacre will be joined by experienced endurance racer Rob Thomson in his GaP Solutions entry. The former Porsche racer won the MARC division in the AGT trophy series this year, while Thompson is fresh from Victory in the SP2 class at the 24hrs COTA USA event

Former British Touring Car Championship Independents Cup champion James Kaye will join Tyler Everingham in a car, with a third driver yet to be named.

The British driver is not unfamiliar with Bathurst, having started the 1994 and 1997 Bathurst 1000s.

Meanwhile, Geoff Taunton will be joined by regular co-driver Jason Busk and Dunlop Super 2 Series regular Bryce Fullwood in his privately entered entry.