All-conquering Team Vodafone

THERE probably wasn't a lot for anyone to celebrate if they weren't a Team Vodafone fan at the Sydney 500 last weekend with the team sealing a one-two finish in the championship to go with their team title.

For the second half of the season, it became a battle between Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes for the title and even heading into Sunday's final race it could have gone either way.

In the end, Whincup did enough to hold on for his third title in four years but Lowndes showed he can still be a major threat.

There were some positives for Ford to come from the year.

They finished third and fourth in the driver's championship courtesy of Mark Winterbottom and Shane van Gisbergen and Winterbottom also won the final race of the season.

It was a return to the front of the field for the Ford Performance Racing driver after a dismal 2010.

There are still some moves to be sorted out for the 2012 season; although more pieces of the puzzle have fallen into place.

Jonathon Webb will have a two-car team and the Mother backed cars will be Holdens and not Fords.

They have leased a licence from Paul Morris Motorsport for next season with the option to purchase it for the following year and they also purchased two Commodores from Morris, one new and one used.

Dick Johnson Racing have announced they will be a three-car operation, but it is believed that Morris could also join them to create a four-car outfit.

So far it has been revealed that Dean Fiore will move Triple F Racing across and he will drive one of the Jim Beam Falcons along with Steven Johnson. James Moffat will drive the third car with alternate sponsorship, possibly from his sponsor Norton 360.

Glenn Seton inducted into V8 Supercars Hall of Fame

ONE of the unluckiest men never to have won the Bathurst 1000 has been recognised for his outstanding career by being inducted into the V8 Supercars Hall of Fame during the V8 Supercars Gala Awards dinner at Darling Harbour on Monday night.

Glenn Seton enjoyed a 20-year career in both the Australian Touring Car Championship and V8 Supercars and was a two-time series winner in 1994 and 1997.

Although he came close on a handful of occasions, the 46 year old never stood on the top step of the podium at Mount Panorama from 27 starts.

He finished as a runner-up in 1987 with John Bowe and in 2003 and 2004 with Craig Lowndes and was famously leading in 1995 when his engine dropped a cylinder and died nine laps from the finish.

Away from Mount Panorama Seton was a prolific winner.

He won 40 of the 209 championship events he started and finished on the podium in another 54, as well as taking 17 round wins and nine pole positions.

After starting his career racing in a Ford Capri, he was a member of the Nissan Motorsport team before establishing Glenn Seton Racing. It was during that time that he won his two championships, with 1997 going down as the last time an owner-driver has won the series.

Seton joins the likes of Peter Brock, Dick Johnson, Allan Moffat and 11 other drivers in the Hall of Fame.

Whincup received his premiership trophy and for the first time a premiership ring, while Lowndes was awarded the Barry Sheene Medal during the glamorous night.