Niamh McAdam, Aidan McBurney and Perthville Public School win Minister's and Secretary’s Awards

NIAMH McAdam and Aidan McBurney from Denison College Bathurst High Campus have made their school and parents proud after winning the Minister’s Award for Excellence in Student Achievement this year.

Perthville Public School, which received the Secretary’s Award for Outstanding School Initiative, was also recognised.

Niamh was acknowledged for her top bands of achievement in primary and secondary schools.

She is captain of Denison College Bathurst High Campus this year and was part of the 200-member delegate that attended a space program in Alabama, USA. 

Niamh takes a keen interest in music, debating, academic learning and sports. 

Her schoolmate and fellow captain Aidan was recognised for his performance in sports and extracurricular activities.

He has represented the school at swimming, cross-country, cricket, AFL and athletics at regional and state levels.

Aidan plays many instruments and has participated in the School Spectacular, the State Wind Ensemble and the Australian Institute of Music Studio Youth Orchestra.

NSW Department of Education secretary Mark Scott said the range of achievement within public schools reflected in the awards was a source of great optimism for the future of the system.

“Whether it is students’ academic excellence preparing them for jobs of the future, teachers’ innovation in guiding and supporting them, support staff or whole-school and community efforts helping our schools be their very best – everyone is helping to lay solid foundations for our future society,” Mr Scott said.

Perthville Public School got the Secretary’s Award for its improved performance in the National Assessment Program – Literacy and Numeracy (NAPLAN), an annual assessment for students in Years 3, 5, 7 and 9. 

The school outperformed the state and statistically similar schools in both Year 3 and 5 in 2017, the NSW Government said.

Niamh, Aidan and Perthville Public were among 91 individuals and schools honoured for their achievement and service to public education across NSW.